Pictorialism

I’m very conscious that I have not posted anything recently so I would like to share some images from a current project. This is based around the pictorialist movement trying to achieve the same aesthetics found within paintings.
The Pictorialist movement was during the end of the ninetieth and early twentieth centuries. The movement originally emerged as a struggle for the photographers who wished for their photographs to not just be seen as a functional description and visual document created by a tool, the camera. But to be accepted as a creative medium and respected just like other creative practitioners such as sculptures, painters or engravers.

This project has been a big change for me as anyone who follows me will be aware, I’m primarily a documentary photographer so I have taken a big leap out of my comfort zone which I feel is important to do to prevent myself from trying new ideas and challenging myself.

Enjoy and feel free to leave feedback šŸ™‚

IMG_5531

IMG_5524

IMG_5515

IMG_5415

IMG_5307

IMG_5262

IMG_5265

IMG_5273

IMG_5295

IMG_5275

Leave a Reply

